Making of the Constitution

In 1934 M.N. Roy (Manabendra Nath Roy) officially demanded for creation of the Constituent Assembly whose objective is to create the Constitution of India. In 1935, the Congress accepted the proposal of M.N. Roy and a Constituent Assembly was created.

In the year 1938 members of the Constituent Assembly were elected by adult franchise. Later in the year 1946 Cabinet Mission came to India whose head was Lord Pethick Lawrence and A.V. Alexander and Sir Stafford Cripps were its members. On the recommendation of the Cabinet Mission, a constituent assembly was established.

The Constituent Assembly had a total of 389 members out of which 93 members were nominated from the Princely States while 292 were elected from the Provinces of British Area and 4 were elected from Chief Commission’s Province of British Area. Out of the 296 members which were elected, 208 were from Congress, 73 were from Muslim League and 15 were other members elected.

The main objectives of the Constituent Assembly was making of Constitution and the making of Parliament. The chairman of the committee which was directed for making of constitution was Dr. Rajendra Prasad while the chairman of the committee which was directed towards the making of Parliament was G.V. Mavalankar.

The first meeting of the Constituent Assembly took place on 9th December, 1946. In this meeting the provisional President of the Constituent Assembly was appointed. Sachchidananda Sinha was appointed as the provisional President of the Assembly based on his seniority.

Second meeting of the Assembly took place on 11th December, 1946, in which Dr. Rajendra Prasad was elected as the Permanent President of the Constituent Assembly. Next meeting took place on 13th December, 1946. In this meeting Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru presented the objective resolution for the Constitution, which later came to be known as the Preamble of the Constitution.

In this meeting, there were different committees formed for different subjects of the Constitution. Every committee was to prepare a report and then send the report to the Drafting Committee. Drafting Committee was the main committee for the making of the Constitution. Dr. B.R. Ambedkar was the head of the Drafting Committee.

The other 6 members of the drafting committee were K.M. Munshi, Alladi Krishnaswamy Iyer, Gopala Swami Ayyangar, Muhammed Saadulah, N Madhava Rao (replaced B.L. Mitter who resigned due to ill health) and T.T. Krishnamachari (replaced D.P. Khaitan who dies in the year 1948).

The Constituent Assembly took sessions from 9th December, 1946 to 26th November, 1949. In this time period a total of 11 sessions took place along with 3 reading of the draft. Total money spent in this time period was around 64 lakh rupees. The various committees took into consideration the constituents of 60 different countries while drafting our Constitution. Our Constitution is about 70% based on the Government of India Act, 1935. On 26th November, 1949 the Constitution of India was formed in which there were 22 Parts, 395 Sections and 8 Schedules (now there are 12 Schedules). Out of all the Articles, 15 Articles were enacted on the same day, i.e. on 26th November, 1949 (of which the Articles related to Citizenship and Election was the main articles). The last session of the Constituent Assembly was held on 24th January, 1950 in which the National Anthem and National Song were adopted and Dr. Rajendra Prasad was the first President to be elected in the independent India. On 26th January, 1950 the Constitution of India was fully enacted.

Aishwarya Says:

I have always been against Glorifying Over Work and therefore, in the year 2021, I have decided to launch this campaign “Balancing Life”and talk about this wrong practice, that we have been following since last few years. I will be talking to and interviewing around 1 lakh people in the coming 2021 and publish their interview regarding their opinion on glamourising Over Work.

If you are interested in participating in the same, do let me know.

Do follow me on FacebookTwitter  Youtube and Instagram.

The copyright of this Article belongs exclusively to Ms. Aishwarya Sandeep. Reproduction of the same, without permission will amount to Copyright Infringement. Appropriate Legal Action under the Indian Laws will be taken.

If you would also like to contribute to my website, then do share your articles or poems at

We also have a Facebook Group Restarter Moms for Mothers or Women who would like to rejoin their careers post a career break or women who are enterpreneurs.

We are also running a series Inspirational Women from January 2021 to March 31,2021, featuring around 1000 stories about Indian Women, who changed the world. #choosetochallenge

One thought on “Making of the Constitution

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: